Skip to content

The Last Time I Thanked Someone

July 4, 2010

I work in customer service, so I thank people a lot. However, what does the obligatory “Thank you” really amount to? I’m never really GRATEFUL that somebody has asked me to make them a cappuccino or scoop them some popcorn.

From what I hear, Americans say “Thank you” too much anyway. In high school my debate team went to Belarus for three weeks for an international tournament. Before the trip the State Department (who was funding the exchange program) taught us how to say “thank you” and “please” in Russian and they stressed that we should make sure to be polite.

After a few times of saying thank you at meals, or glasses of water – just instances when we would normally express gratitude here – they got fed up, and my host informed me that I shouldn’t thank people so much because then it means nothing.

Just something to chew on.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

