Skip to content

Confessions of a Freaked Out College Senior Pt II

July 13, 2010

Wow. This is my schedule for the next few days.

My upcoming week at Yale

I got a full scholarship to go to this year’s Women’s Campaign School at Yale, and I’ve just put in the schedule to my calendar. Brutal. But amazing.

Day One

Today I met my 50-60 classmates. They come from all over the country, and some from around the world. There are 2 women from China, 3 from Egypt, one from Venezuela, one from London, one from Canada, one from Nigeria, one from Serbia, and one from Morocco. I’m the youngest and least experienced. The most successful in the class include housing commissioners, party officials and strategists, candidates for offices around the country, and so on.

Today the classes included making the decision to run, and campaign speech and image tips. We had some amazing speakers. We were also given two assignments for the week. One (which we’ve ideally been working on already) is a 3-5 minute stump speech we must deliver on camera to receive one-on-one speech coaching. The other is a group project. We were assigned a side (Dem or Rep) of this year’s Ohio governor’s race, and we have 4 days (3 now) to create an entire campaign strategy. Pretty frickin hard. Each group will have 30 minutes to present to the entire class on Saturday, and then 30 minutes for judge questions and deliberation before we receive our grades and graduate.

I managed to make some small talk and pick out a few women I like. I also learned about a couple more organizations I might want to work for. I’m still working up the courage to pass out some last minute business cards I printed up at home.

Anyway, I’ve got to start studying Ohio demographics, or I’ll be in hot water with my group tomorrow.

Be back tomorrow if I survive another day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 9:35 pm

    so, what party are you assigned to? if you are a republican i may need to reevaluate our friendship

    • July 13, 2010 9:48 pm

      Democrat. Too bad Strickland is a really boring guy and will probably lose.

    • July 13, 2010 10:37 pm

      BTW, they assigned us to groups, we were not allowed to choose or switch. They deliberately made our teams bipartisan.

  2. shortman permalink
    July 13, 2010 9:42 pm

    Sounds like it will be a truly fulfilling experience. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

